·   Log in

Golf Rules: What is Grounding a Club?

Written by: on 17th August 2010 |
golf-bunker
Golf Rules: What is Grounding a Club?  | read this item

Due to the recent penalty of Dustin Johnson yesterday at the PGA Championship, many are now asking what is grounding a club means.

The golf tournament penalty incurred by Dustin Johnson ended his tournament run and if you’re curious about the golf rules about grounding a club, here below is the definition according to the United States Golf Association:

It states:
Before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard (whether a bunker or a water hazard) or that, having been lifted from a hazard, may be dropped or placed in the hazard, the player must not:

  • Test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard;
  • Touch the ground in the hazard or water in the water hazard with his hand or a club;

Johnson said that he knew about the rule but couldn’t see that it was a bunker.

“I just thought it was on a piece of dirt where the crowd had trampled down,” Johnson told reporters after the incident.

To receive updates from WWNN.co.uk directly to your e-mail, you can subscribe to us for free by entering your e-mail address here and confirming your subscription by clicking the link that will be sent to your e-mail address.

Topics: ,