·   Log in

Philippines Inaugurates Noynoy Aquino as New President

Written by: on 1st July 2010 |
Philippines Inaugurates Noynoy Aquino as New President   | read this item

The new president of the Philippines was inaugurated yesterday, June 30.  President Noynou Aquino’s Inauguration speech highlights the track which the country would be taking in the next six years.  It also contains his humble story of rise to the power of the presidency.

President Noynoy Aquino was officially sown into office at 12:00 noon, Philippine Time by Supreme Court Associate Justice Conchita Carpio-Morales. Aquino did not want Chief Justice Renato Corona to administer the oath because he believes that former President Arroyo’s appointment of him is illegal.

The inauguration formally ended the transition of power from the 14th President of the Philippines, Gloria MAcapagal-Arroyo to the new and 15th President, Benigno Aquino III.

Noynoy Aquino as he was popularly called won the 2010 Philippine elections last May 2010 and was officially proclaimed on June 9, 2010, at the Batasang Pambansa, in Quezon City by the Congress of the Philippines.

Unlike former inaugurations in the Philippines, this one has no Inaugural Parade and for the first time it is not only the president that had been sworn his oath but the people as well. The people present in the Inauguration Rites as well as every Filipino was asked to take the “Panata sa Pagbabago” or Oath of Change.

Earlier that day Aquino went to Malacanang to visit President Arroyo and then the two went together to the Quirino Grandstand. After the farewell honors for the former President, she left for Pampanga.

The formal inaugural for Aquino started at around 11:00am PST. Charice Pempenco sang the Philippine National Anthem. After that a musical ensemble was presented which included the APO Hiking Society, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Noel Cabangon, Gary Valenciano and other artists.

Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile then read the proclamation of the election results. Vice President-elect Jejomar Binay was sworn in a few minutes prior to Aquino to secure the constitutional line of succession.

Among the guests present at the Inauguration Rites of President Noynoy Aquino were Timor-Leste – President Jose Ramos-Horta, the highest dignitary present.

Other representatives includes the following:

  1. United States – Trade Representative Ron Kirk
  2. People’s Republic of China – National People’s Congress Vice Chairwoman Yan Junqi
  3. Japan – State Secretary for Foreign Affairs Osamu Fujimura and Tokyo Governor Shintaro Ishihara
  4. Holy See – Titular Archbishop of Pia and Apostolic Nuncio to Korea, the Most Reverend Osvaldo Padilla
  5. Spain – Minister of Defense Enrique Mugica and the Director General for Foreign Policy for Asia and the Pacific at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation Jose Eugenio Salarich
  6. Singapore – Foreign Minister George Yong-Boon Yeo
  7. Saudi Arabia – Minister of State of the Foreign Affairs Dr. Nizar bin Abaid Madani
  8. Brunei Darussalam – Second Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade Pehin Orang Kaya Pekerma
  9. Cambodia – Minister of Information Khieuk Kanharith
  10. Indonesia – Coordinating Minister for People’s Welfare H.R. Agung Laksono
  11. South Korea – Chairman of the Board of Audit and Inspection Kim Hwang-Sik]
  12. Laos – Chief of Cabinet to the President Souban Srithirath
  13. Malaysia – Minister for Women, Family and Community Development Dato’ Sri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil
  14. Thailand – Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Ongart Klampaiboon
  15. Vietnam – Minister of Industry and Trade Vu Huy Hoang
  16. Australia – Julie Owens
  17. Canada- Jim Abbott
  18. New Zealand – John Hayes
  19. Organization of Islamic Conference – Assistant Secretary-General Samir Diab
  20. Peru – Ambassador to Indonesia Jorge Castaneda Martinez
  21. United Nations – Resident Coordinator Jacqueline Babcock
  22. Food and Agricultural Organization – Kazuyuki Tsurumi
  23. Food and Agricultural Organization – Jean-Daniel Tauxe
  24. International Labor Organization – Linda Wirth
  25. International Monetary Fund – Dennis Bothman
  26. International Organization for Migration – Duc Tran
  27. United Nations Children’s Fund – Vanessa Tobin, represented by Colin Davis
  28. UN Development Program – Renaud Mayer
  29. UN High Commission for Refugees – Rico Salcedo
  30. UN World Food Programme – Stephen Anderson
  31. World Bank – Bert Hoffman
  32. World Health Organization – Dr. Linda Milan
To receive updates from WWNN.co.uk directly to your e-mail, you can subscribe to us for free by entering your e-mail address here and confirming your subscription by clicking the link that will be sent to your e-mail address.

Topics: , ,